National Youth Arts - ArtsDig - Resource for youth arts

2019 Awards  |  Previous National Youth Arts Awards  | RSVP

Burbank   |  Westlake Village   |  Orange County   |  La Mesa   |  San Diego-Westview  

2018 - 2019 14th Annual National Youth Arts Awards! 
National Youth Arts is excited to begin announcing the winners of our 14th Annual National Youth Arts Awards to honor outstanding work by youth in the arts. This year more than 700 productions were considered for the awards, including shows from 240 different members spanning 17 states, Canada & the UK. For information on how to get involved, please click here.

This year's award winners were selected from nominations by a panel of more than 50 judges and reviewers. In addition to the youth who performed in schools and youth arts companies, anyone age 18 and under who performed at a show reviewed by a judge was also considered for the NYA awards, as well as the adults who participated in the youth productions backstage (directors, set designers, costume designers, etc.) and guest adult Performances in productions designed for youth. College artists are eligible for our University Arts (UniArts) Awards presented in conjunction with the National Youth Arts Awards. Thank you all for your incredible work and all the unforgettable entertainment over the past year!

The award winners will be formally presented with their awards on stage and nomination certificates will be available at the registration table for the nominees. The ceremonies honoring all of their accomplishments are held in different regions of the country including multiple ceremonies in Arizona, California, Colorado, New York, and Virginia. If award winners can't make it to their ceremony, they might be able to attend one of the other ceremonies.

So far in 2019 alone, former NYA award winners have been involved in more than a dozen Broadway shows (including Hamilton, Choir Boy, What the Constitution Means to Me, Come From Away, The Prom, Chicago, The Cher Show, The Ferryman, Dear Evan Hansen, The Book of Mormon, Mean Girls, Waitress, My Fair Lady) and principal performers on more than twenty current or scheduled TV shows (including Dynasty, Stranger Things, Fosse/Verdon, Nancy Drew, Tales of the City, Queen Sugar, P-Valley, High School Musical, Young Justice, Queen America, Happy!, Mr. Iglesias, Atypical, Veronica Mars, Future Cult Classic, iZombie, Pose, Looking for Alaska, The Gifted, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), as well as principals in films including Shazam!, Us, Happy Death Day 2U, and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

A few award-winning alumni include three Tony Nominees, Ashley Park [2009 Winner] ( Gretchen in Mean Girls), Emily Skeggs [2008] ( Medium Alison in Fun Home) & Madeleine Foster Bersin [2010] as producer of What the Constitution Means to Me, as well as Asher Angel [2013, '14, '15] (Film: Billy Batson in Shazam!, TV: Jonah Beck in Andi Mack), Jackie Foster [2010, '12, '13, '14] (TV: The Voice Semifinalist, 2019 Lollapalooza), Brian Crum [2005] (TV: America's Got Talent: The Champions finalist), Veronica Dunne [2011, '12, '13] (Broadway: Roxie in Chicago, TV: Marisa Clark in K.C. Undercover), Carolyn Braver [2007, '08] (Broadway: Pearl in The Iceman Cometh, TV: Gidget in P-Valley), Micaela Diamond [2015] (Broadway: Teen Cher), Rachel Redleaf [2011, '12, '13, '14] (Mama Cass in Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Beth in Atypical),  Brennyn Lark [2011] (Broadway: Eponine in Les Mis, TV: The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), and Grammy winner Ariana Grande [2009]

Ceremony Portfolio for Agents: Award recipients and nominees are eligible for talent agency submissions. If you're interested in having NY and LA agents review your headshot/resume, please email them to If any of the agencies are interested, you'll be contacted directly via the email on your resume. Reminder: Your resume should only have the email and cell of someone over the age of 18 (your parent or guardian)

Rob Hopper

Executive Director
National Youth Arts

Burbank Ceremony
RSVP | Awards | Nominees
Sunday, May 26
Registration begins @ 6:15 p.m.
Awards Presentation begins @ 7:00 p.m.
Burroughs High School
1920 W. Clark Ave.
Burbank, CA 91506

Westlake Village Ceremony
RSVP | Awards | Nominees
Sunday, June 2
Registration begins @ 6:15 p.m.
Awards Presentation begins @ 7:00 p.m.
Oaks Christian School
31749 La Tienda Dr.
Westlake Village, CA 91362

Orange County Ceremony - Anaheim
RSVP | Awards | Nominees
Monday, June 3
Registration begins @ 6:45 p.m.
Awards Presentation begins @ 7:30 p.m.
Rose Center Theater
14140 All American Way
Westminster, CA 92683

San Diego-La Mesa Ceremony
RSVP | Awards | Nominees
Friday, June 14
Registration begins @ 6:45 p.m.
Awards Presentation begins @ 7:30 p.m.
Helix Charter High School
4200 Lowell St.
La Mesa, CA 91942

San Diego-Westview Ceremony
RSVP | Awards | Nominees
Monday, June 24
Registration begins @ 6:45 p.m.
Awards Presentation begins @ 7:30 p.m.
Westview High School
13500 Camino Del Sur
San Diego, CA 92129

San Marcos Ceremony